Navigation Content
University of Wisconsin Madison College of Engineering
You are here:
  1. Home > 
  2. News > 
  3. News archive > 
  4. 2005 > 

College of Engineering faculty/staff awards

The College of Engineering recognized winners of UW-Madison campus awards at its second annual Appreciation Day celebration May 3.

UW-Madison faculty/staff awards

Recipients of campus awards include:


Polygon Teaching Awards

Engineering undergraduates choose these teaching awards, which are administered by the Polygon Engineering Council.


College of Engineering faculty/staff awards

Peter J. Bosscher

Peter J. Bosscher (20K JPG)

The Ragnar E. Onstad Service to Society Award

Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor Peter Bosscher is the mentor and founder of the UW-Madison chapter of Engineers Without Borders. Under his leadership, the organization has flourished, providing students with a sense of integrity and responsibility with regard to environmental stewardship and sustainable development. The chapter's project in Muramba Parish, Rwanda, has given students an international opportunity to use their engineering expertise combined with humanity and compassion. The project is working to provide one of Africa's poorest countries with a safe and reliable local water system.

Diane Peterson

Diane Peterson (27K JPG)

Classified Staff Distinguished Achievement Award

Chemical and Biological Engineering Program Assistant Diane Peterson has truly made a difference for the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering. She is appreciated for her exceptional organizational skills and ability to work quickly, accurately and efficiently at any task that comes her way. After starting her employment with the department as a technical typist many years ago, she is now a leader among CBE's classified staff.

Glenn Bower

Glenn R. Bower (10K JPG)

The Bollinger Academic Staff Distinguished Achievement Award

Mechanical Engineering Faculty Associate Glenn Bower put the college's many automotive competition projects "in gear." As advisor to projects like FutureTruck, Clean Snowmobile Challenge, Baja Car and Formula Car, he helps students take their design and technical skills out of the classroom and into the cars and snowmobiles they are building. But he does much more — he teaches them about teamwork and leadership. He also teaches them to be ambassadors for their projects with industry and the public, learning valuable communication skills in the process. As a result of his exceptional dedication, the college's student teams have an enviable record of national achievement — including several national championships for Future Car, Future Truck and the Clean Snowmobile.

Martin Zanni

Martin Zanni (11K JPG)

The Benjamin Smith Reynolds Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Benjamin Smith Reynolds Award for Excellence in Teaching is awarded to Assistant Professor of Chemistry Martin Zanni for his innovative approach to teaching chemistry to engineering students, particularly Chemistry 109. Numerous letters of support of this nomination spoke of Zanni's enthusiasm, dedication and skill, and his ability to explain difficult concepts in understandable terms. Many engineering students wrote that rather than dreading the class, they became very excited about it and looked forward to it as one of their favorite classes.

James B. Rawlings

James B. Rawlings (13K JPG)

The Byron Bird Award for Excellence in a Research Publication

The Byron Bird Award for Excellence in a Research Publication recognizes Chemical and Biological Engineering Professor James Rawlings' important work on model-based predictive control, in particular two landmark journal articles: "Model predictive control with linear models," published in the AIChE Journal, and "Stability of constrained receding horizon control," printed in IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control. This work has been described as "unusually broad and deep, extending across the entire spectrum from the shedding of light on the principles of model-based predictive control to innovations in education and drastically improved industrial practice."

Charles G. Hill, Jr.

Charles G. Hill (18K JPG)

The James G. Woodburn Award for Excellence in Teaching

In his many years of teaching chemical engineers, Chemical and Biological Engineering Professor Charles G. Hill, Jr. has been known as an exemplary leader and mentor. Letters of support for his nomination consistently spoke of the tremendous impact of his teaching in courses like Kinetics and Reactor Design, and Operations and Process Laboratories. He is widely admired for his skillful use of the Socratic method to keep students challenged and engaged in the classroom. His high standards are accompanied by a willingness to meet with students individually to help them improve their understanding of course concepts. He also has been an advocate and frequent instructor of overseas programs, including the well-known summer lab course. He is one of the college's most honored teachers, and is a past winner of thirteen Polygon teaching awards, Tau Beta Pi teaching award, and the Benjamin Smith Reynolds award, to name just a few. He is also a member of the UW-Madison Teaching Academy.

Gregory A. Moses

Gregory A. Moses (12K JPG)

The Harvey Spangler Award for Technology Enhanced Instruction

Students in Computer Science 310 were truly the winners of Engineering Physics Professor Greg Moses' dedication to fundamentally rethinking how to facilitate learning. As the co-developer of eTEACH software, he used technology to help enable students to learn lecture material on-line at their own pace and restructure the time students had with the professor. The result was a fundamentally changed course with emphasis on a challenging lab section that offered students more direct contact with the instructors and more opportunity to use what they learned from lecture material to solve problems. The result has been a quantum leap in the students' ability to understand, analyze and solve realistic problems. The impact of this software is growing, as it was recently introduced in EMA 201 and NEEP 405. eTEACH is an outstanding example of using technology to improve learning inside and outside the classroom.