Navigation Content
University of Wisconsin Madison College of Engineering
You are here:
  1. Home > 
  2. News > 
  3. News archive > 
  4. 2001 > 

College honors 16 at Oct. 26 Engineers' Day celebration

The College of Engineering will honor 16 faculty, staff and alumni Oct. 26 during its 54th Engineers' Day banquet at the Madison Marriott West Hotel. The day-long celebration includes several seminars that highlight faculty research in health care, photons, breast-cancer detection, and student community service projects; as well as luncheons, lectures and tours. For a complete schedule of events, visit the Engineers' Day website.

Faculty and staff honorees include:


Patrick V. Farrell


Patrick V. Farrell
(15K JPG)

Benjamin Smith Reynolds Award for Excellence in Teaching Engineers
Patrick V. Farrell
Professor, Mechanical Engineering and Associate Dean, Academic Affairs

Patrick Farrell's peers say his visionary leadership, dedication and understanding of the relationship between teaching and learning are responsible for great improvements in faculty instruction and student learning in the college and beyond.


Donna M. Lewis

Donna M. Lewis (20K JPG)

Bollinger Academic Staff Distinguished Achievement Award
Donna M. Lewis
Senior Administrative Program Specialist, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Donna Lewis has made outstanding contributions to the college, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering (ECE), Teaching Improvement Program and has served on numerous committees throughout the university. As administrator for ECE, Lewis exemplifies excellence in leadership by consistently performing at a high level, setting superior standards of excellence for staff and teaching assistants, and interacting positively and effectively with faculty, staff and students.


James E. Smith

James E. Smith (24K JPG)

Byron Bird Award for Excellence in a Research Publication
James Smith
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

James Smith's award recognizes the fundamental contributions of his research publications and patent in the development of high speed, high performance microprocessors. Twenty years ago, a microprocessor with 100,000 transistors could execute the instructions of a program one at a time, taking tens of clock cycles. Today, microprocessors hold tens of millions of transistors and execute multiple instructions in a single clock cycle. Smith's work contributed innovations in computer architecture that made possible this improvement to instruction processing rates.


Phil J. Biebl

Phil J. Biebl (12K JPG)

Ragnar E. Onstad Service to Society Award
Philip J. Biebl
Senior Artist, Engineering External Relations

Whether it is checking in on an elderly neighbor or lending his artistic talents to community efforts, Philip Biebl finds ways to make a difference every day. For example, each morning he launches his web browser and visits He clicks on three links that, in exchange for the visit, agree to send food, clothing, and medicine to the world's needy. This is a small example of a simple action that many people take, but it is important because it demonstrates one of the many ways that Biebl translates good intentions into action every day.

Alumni honorees include:

2001 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

Robert C. Armstrong
Chevron Professor & Department Head
Chemical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Terry D. Gerhardt
Vice President of Corporate Technology
Sonoco Products Co.

Joseph L. Goss
Vice President, Worldwide Manufacturing Operations

James R. Jaeschke
Owner & Manager
Electronic Systems Consultants, LLC

Thomas C. Leonhardt
President/CEO/Consulting Engineer (Retired)
Rust Environment & Infrastructure

Jane R. Mandula
Co-owner & Vice President
Gen/Tran Corporation

Kim A. Pearson
President & CEO
Pearson Technical Software, Inc./LANovation

Kenneth P. Phillips
Manager, Advanced Development
Drives Business, Rockwell Automation

Roger W. Rolke
Director, Engineering
Equilon Technology Company

S. David Sanders
Manager, Manufacturing Operations
Caterpillar Corporation

Syed M. Shahed
Vice President, Research & Development
Honeywell Turbocharging Systems

Ralph J. Stephenson
Engineering Consultant