Navigation Content
University of Wisconsin Madison College of Engineering
You are here:
  1. Home > 
  2. News > 
  3. News archive > 
  4. 2001 > 

Two COE faculty named members of the National Academy of Engineering

Twenty University of Wisconsin-Madison faculty now are members of the National Academy of Engineering. They include:

R. Byron Bird,
Chemical Engineering

John Bollinger,
Industrial Engineering

Gary Borman,
Mechanical Engineering

James Callen,
Engineering Physics

Y. Austin Chang,
Materials Science & Engineering

Michael L. Corradini,
Engineering Physics

Carl deBoor,

David Dewitt,
Computer Sciences

James A. Dumesic,
Chemical Engineering

Olaf Hougen,
Chemical Engineering

Gerald Kulcinski,
Engineering Physics

Max Lagally,
Materials Science & Engineering

Edwin Lightfoot,
Chemical Engineering

Arthur Lodge,
Engineering Physics

Phil Myers,
Mechanical Engineering

Paul Peercy,
Materials Science & Engineering

Harold Peterson,
Electrical Engineering

W. Harmon Ray,
Chemical Engineering

Dale Rudd,
Chemical Engineering

Warren Stewart,
Chemical Engineering

University of Wisconsin-Madison College of Engineering Dean Paul S. Peercy and Materials Science & Engineering Professor Max G. Lagally are among 74 engineers and eight foreign associates elected Friday (Feb. 16) to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) in 2001.

Among the world's most accomplished engineers, Peercy and Lagally join more than 2,000 peer-elected members and foreign associates in the NAE. Twenty faculty members at the University of Wisconsin-Madison now share this honor.

Paul S. Peercy

Paul S. Peercy (26K JPG)

Peercy, a leader in the nation's semiconductor industry, received his master's degree in 1963 and PhD in 1966 from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Physics.

Before becoming engineering dean in 1999, Peercy was president of SEMI/SEMATECH, a nonprofit consortium that steers technical issues for more than 130 of the nation's top suppliers to the semiconductor industry. Prior to that position, he was director of microelectronics and photonics at Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

He is a fellow of the Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Physical Society. His research spans several areas of solid-state and materials physics and engineering.

Former Wisconsin Gov. Tommy Thompson recently appointed Peercy to the Wisconsin Technology and Entrepreneurship Council (WITEC). WITEC is a high-technology business development corporation funded through the Department of Commerce to provide direction to the state's efforts to attract and develop companies of the new economy. His term will expire in 2005.

Max G. Lagally

Max G. Lagally (14K JPG)

Erwin W. Mueller Professor and Bascom Professor of Surface Science, Lagally has conducted ground-breaking research in both new and established areas of surface science. His work includes studying the nanoscale properties of structures of primarily semiconductors; the relationship of material structure to various localized electrical and magnetic properties, and DNA computing. Lagally also has developed advanced instrumentation for surface and interface studies.

He received his master's degree in physics and PhD in solid-state physics from UW-Madison in 1963 and 1968, respectively. In 1970, he joined the UW-Madison physics department and became an assistant professor of materials science in 1971.

Lagally recently was elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a member of the German National Academy of Science. In addition, he is a fellow of the American Physical Society, the Australian Institute of Physics, and the American Vacuum Society. Among his honors, Lagally received the Byron Bird Award for Excellence in research from the UW-Madison College of Engineering in 1989.

Sangtae Kim, a former faculty member and chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering, also was named a member of the NAE. He currently is vice president and information officer of Lilly Research Laboratories, Indianapolis.

Founded in 1964, the NAE is a branch of the National Academies, which also include the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine (IOM), and the National Research Council (NRC). In addition to its role as advisor to the federal government, the NAE also conducts independent studies to examine important topics in engineering and technology.