Navigation Content
University of Wisconsin Madison College of Engineering
You are here:
  1. Home > 
  2. News > 
  3. News archive > 
  4. 1998 > 

College to honor distinguished alumni, faculty, staff at 51st Engineers' Day

On October 9, the UW-Madison College of Engineering will honor four outstanding faculty and staff members, as well as 13 distinguished alumni and individuals affiliated with the college, during the 51st annual observance of Engineers' Day. A free seminar program will be held from 8:45 to noon in room 1610 Engineering Hall. (For a complete schedule of talks, see the Engineers' Day website.)

The college will honor the following individuals at the evening banquet at Monona Terrace Convention Center:


  • Mechanical Engineering Professor John W. Mitchell will receive the Benjamin Smith Reynolds Award for Excellence in Teaching. Contributing to the selection of Mitchell were his welcoming personality, his enjoyment of the profession, and his ability to spark student interest and creativity.


  • Bezalel C. Haimson, a professor of materials science and engineering and chair of the Geological Engineering Program, will be presented with the Byron Bird Award for Excellence in a Research Publication. The award recognizes a series of 10 articles Haimson authored on the theory and practice of hydraulic fracturing.


  • Senior Scientist Igor Sviatoslavsky will receive the Bollinger Academic Staff Distinguished Achievement Award. Affiliated with the Fusion Technology Institute (FTI), he has garnered international recognition for designing reactors to produce electricity from fusion power plants as well as equipment to mine valuable materials from the surface of the moon.


  • Professor Donald M. Walker, of the Department of Engineering Professional Development, will be presented with the Ragnar E. Onstad Service to Society Award. As head of the Transportation Information Center since 1983, he is responsible for delivering approximately 30 workshops a year to more than 3,000 local highway agency personnel. He has also developed more than 150 continuing education courses for practicing engineers and managers.

Recipients of Distinguished Service Citations, for outstanding careers of 20 or more years in engineering or a related field, are: John S. Balis, Eugene M. Bentley, III, Pierre J. Carreau, Raymond L. Degner, Hermann W. Dommel, William A.J. Golomski, Michael J. Lalich, C.Y. Loh, Thomas F. Plunkett, Kenneth L. Schroeder, Paul F. Thiele, Bennett H. Tollefson and Stuart G. Walesh.