NEEP department now Engineering Physics

Share this story:

The college’s Department of Nuclear Engineering and Engineering Physics (NEEP) has changed its name to the Department of Engineering Physics. Both the faculty and the university approved the change this spring.

Engineering physics better reflects the department’s broadened mission, explains department chair Gilbert A. Emmert.

In 1995, the Department of Engineering Mechanics ceased to exist as a separate department and the majority of its faculty joined the NEEP department. The new name gives visibility to all of the department’s degree programs, which include BS degrees in nuclear engineering, engineering mechanics, and engineering mechanics with an astronautics option; and MS and PhD degrees in nuclear engineering & engineering physics and engineering mechanics.