Contact us

Look up specific instructors in the faculty and instructional staff directory.

Everyone without a different room address here is based in 2107 Mechanical Engineering Building.

2107 Mechanical Engineering Building [find on campus map]
1513 University Ave, Madison, WI 53706
dept@me.engr.wisc.edu | 608-262-3543

Darryl Thelen
John Bollinger Chair of Mechanical Engineering
& Bernard A. and Frances M. Weideman Professor
dgthelen@wisc.edu | 608-262-1902

Gregory F. Nellis
Associate Chair
& William A. and Irene Ouweneel-Bascom Professor
1339 Engineering Research Building | gfnellis@engr.wisc.edu | 608-265-6626

Frank Pfefferkorn
Chair, Graduate Committee
1031 Mechanical Engineering Building | frank.pfefferkorn@wisc.edu | 608-263-2668

DEPARTMENT STAFF

Spring 2021: Most of our department staff are working remotely.

Catherine Carter
Academic Department Manager usually in the office
clcarter2@wisc.edu | 608-265-2155

  • department budgeting and accounts
  • professorships
  • budgeting
  • startup tracking; buyout
  • policies and procedures

Barb Wipperfurth
Assistant Department Administrator usually in the office
barb.wipperfurth@wisc.edu | 608-890-2248

  • work order submission and tracking
  • payroll and HR supervision
  • TA and grader recruiting; faculty recruiting coordination
  • department graduate fellowship accounts
  • fall competition accounts

Tanya Trejo
Payroll and Benefits Specialist remote
2001 Mechanical Engineering Building
tanya.trejo@wisc.edu | 608-890-2562

  • student and zero-dollar appointments
  • payroll funding changes
  • student TA shop waivers
  • faculty and student visas
  • undergraduate fellowship/award letters/payments
  • parental leave for grad students
  • affiliate appointments

Yan Xu
Accountant remote
xu364@wisc.edu | 608-890-3699

  • purchase orders, PIRs, and direct payments
  • department Foundation and 233 accounts
  • capital equipment
  • gifts in kind; scholarship payments

Alex Gober
Financial Specialist remote
agober@wisc.edu | 608-890-3032

  • credit cards, procards, purchasing
  • travel and travel-expense reimbursement
  • fleet vehicle reservations

Corentine Kinzley
Financial Specialist remote
ckinzley@wisc.edu | 608-890-3032

  • credit cards, procards, purchasing
  • travel and travel-expense reimbursement
  • fleet vehicle reservations

Catherine Shults
Research Administrator remote
catherine.shults@wisc.edu | 608-263-5372

  • pre-award: support, budgets, submissions
  • post-award: setup, management, closeout
  • effort reporting
  • faculty Foundation and 233 accounts; revenue accounts

Zach Smith
Research Administrator remote
rsmith48@wisc.edu | 608-890-1090

  • same as Catherine Shults

Meg Hamel
Communications + special projects remote
meg.hamel@wisc.edu | 608-265-8438

  • strategic communications
  • event management
  • undergraduate scholarships
  • alumni relations, stewardship
  • special projects

ADVISING

Mechanical Engineering’s undergraduate advisors are based in the Office of Undergraduate Advising, 1410 Engineering Drive. [find on campus map]

Go to the Engineering Student Services Undergraduate advisor page.

Students can look up their assigned advisor at my.wisc.edu.

 

Sara Hladilek is the Graduate Student Services Advisor for Mechanical Engineering:
3182 Mechanical Engineering Building | shladilek@wisc.edu | 608-262-8617