Contact us

Look up specific instructors in the faculty and instructional staff directory.

Everyone without a different room address here is based in 2107 Mechanical Engineering Building.

2107 Mechanical Engineering Building [find on campus map]
1513 University Ave, Madison, WI 53706
dept@me.engr.wisc.edu | 608-262-3543

 

Darryl Thelen
John Bollinger Chair of Mechanical Engineering
& Bernard A. and Frances M. Weideman Professor
dgthelen@wisc.edu | 608-262-1902

Mike Zinn
Associate Professor
and Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies
3043 Mechanical Engineering Building | mzinn@wisc.edu | 608-263-2893

Frank Pfefferkorn
Professor
and Associate Chair for Graduate Studies
1031 Mechanical Engineering Building | frank.pfefferkorn@wisc.edu | 608-263-2668

Xiaoping Qian
Elmer R. and Janet Ambach Kaiser Professor
and Associate Chair for Research
2051 Mechanical Engineering Building | qian@engr.wisc.edu | 608-890-1925

 

DEPARTMENT STAFF

Catherine Carter
Academic Department Manager
clcarter2@wisc.edu | 608-265-2155

  • department budgeting and accounts
  • professorships
  • policies and procedures
  • faculty recruiting

Barb Wipperfurth
Assistant Department Administrator
barb.wipperfurth@wisc.edu | 608-890-2248

  • payroll and HR supervision
  • teaching assistant and grader hiring
  • graduate fellowship accounts
  • academic staff appointments

Yan Xu
Accountant
2001 Mechanical Engineering Building
xu364@wisc.edu | 608-890-3699

  • purchases over $5000
  • payments to individuals
  • Wisconsin Foundation accounts
  • financial reports and reconciliation
  • capital equipment
  • gifts in kind

Corentine Kinzley
Financial Specialist
ckinzley@wisc.edu | 608-262-2281

  • purchases under $5,000
  • travel expense reimbursement
  • work orders
  • fleet vehicle reservations
  • ShopUW+
  • transportation accounts

Hannah Douglas
Office Manager
hannah.douglas@wisc.edu | 608-262-8223

  • department office coordination
  • chair administrative support
  • department sponsored events
  • keys, phones, and copiers
  • Speak Test registration

Meg Hamel
Communications + special projects
meg.hamel@wisc.edu | 608-265-8438

  • strategic communications
  • department-sponsored events
  • undergraduate scholarships
  • department website and social media
  • alumni relations, stewardship

Tanya Trejo
Payroll and Benefits Specialist
tanya.trejo@wisc.edu | 608-890-2562

  • students appointments
  • zero-dollar appointments
  • employees-in-training appointments
  • payroll funding
  • visas

Shannon Reilly
Payroll and Benefits Specialist
sreilly2@wisc.edu | 608-263-5626

  • students appointments
  • zero-dollar appointments
  • employees-in-training appointments
  • payroll funding
  • visas

Catherine Shults
Research Administrator
2001 Mechanical Engineering Building
catherine.shults@wisc.edu | 608-263-5372

  • pre-award: support, budget submissions
  • post-award: setup, management, closeout
  • effort reporting
  • faculty internal grands and gifts accounts

Zach Smith
Research Administrator
2001 Mechanical Engineering Building
rsmith48@wisc.edu | 608-890-1090

  • pre-award: support, budget submissions
  • post-award: setup, management, closeout
  • effort reporting
  • faculty internal grands and gifts accounts

ADVISING

Mechanical Engineering’s undergraduate advisors are based in the Office of Undergraduate Advising, 1410 Engineering Drive. [find on campus map]

Go to the Engineering Student Services Undergraduate advisor page.

Students can look up their assigned advisor at my.wisc.edu.

 

Sara Hladilek is the Graduate Student Services Advisor for Mechanical Engineering:
3182 Mechanical Engineering Building | shladilek@wisc.edu | 608-262-8617