Engineering Physics Department Chairs (from left to right)
Jake Blanchard (2011-2015), Max Carbon (1958-1992), Mike Corradini (2001-2011), Gil Emmert (1992-2001), Douglass Henderson (2015-Present)

Greetings to alumni and friends of the Department of Engineering Physics! The service you provide to our current and future students is inspiring. Your continued interest in the department guides us. Thank you on behalf of the entire department!

Students who graduate from our department do not end their relationship with us upon leaving our doors. You become part of a lifelong, connected community. Send us your news – or questions – anytime.

Through your gifts, we have sponsored many excellent students and faculty with scholarships, fellowships or named professorships. Just as importantly, your contributions have enabled us to nurture a spirit of lifelong community. We truly appreciate your generosity!

Learn more about how to make a donation to our annual fund here.

On Wisconsin!

Engineers' Day 2018

Engineers’ Day 2018 will take place on Friday, October 19! Please join us on campus and contact for details on department specific events.

For College of Engineering activities and information on the tailgate/homecoming game click here!




EP alumni honored at last year’s 70th annual Engineers’ Day celebration on October 20, 2017 were:

Engineering Physics Early Career Award recipient:

Ross Radel
President, Phoenix Nuclear Labs
BSNE ’03, MSNEEP ’04, PhDNEEP ’07

We honored Ross for corporate leadership that has led Phoenix Nuclear Labs to become an internationally recognized manufacturer of neutron sources for medical diagnostics and detecting clandestine materials. Read more about Ross.


Engineering Physics Distinguished Achievement Award recipient:

Adam Steltzner
Engineering Fellow,
CalTech/NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory 
Chief Engineer, Mars 2020 Project
PhDEM ’99
(BSME ’90, UC-Davis; MS applied mechanics ’91, Caltech)

We honored Adam for pioneering accomplishments that have yielded new ways to explore and expand the knowledge of our universe. Read more about Adam and view his talk: How a rocker became a lead engineer for the Mars rover: How Curiosity changed my life and I changed hers