Faculty Awards and Recognition


IEEE Fellow

Nader Behdad (2017) – for contributions to sub-wavelength electromagnetic periodic structures

John Booske (2007) – for contributions to vacuum electronics and microwave processing of materials

Dan Botez (1986) – for leadership in the development of high-power semiconductor lasers

Susan Hagness (2009) – for contributions to time-domain computational electromagnetics and microwave medical imaging

Yu Hen Hu (1999) – for contributions to design and implementation of signal processing algorithms

Hongrui Jiang (2017) – for contributions to materials and micro-scale optical tools for medical imaging

Mikko Lipasti (2013) – for contributions to the microarchitecture and design of high-performance microprocessors and computer systems

Zhenqiang Ma (2018) – for contributions to flexile and biodegradable microwave electronics

Luke Mawst (2011) – for contributions to the development of high-power designs and new material systems for semiconductor diode lasers

Rob Nowak (2010) – for contributions to statistical signal and image processing

Parmesh Ramanathan (2009) – for contributions to real-time systems and networks

Barry Van Veen (2002) – for contributions to the development of subspace signal-processing algorithms


American Physical Society Fellow

John Booske (2011)

Zhenqiang Ma (2017)


Optical Society of America Fellow

Dan Botez (1995)

Zhenqiang Ma (2018)

Zongfu Yu (2020)


American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering Fellow

Hongrui Jiang (2016)

Zhenqiang Ma (2018)


American Association for Advancement of Science Fellow

Zhenqiang Ma (2017)


SPIE (International Society for Optics and Photonics) Fellow

Zhenqiang Ma (2020)


National Academy of Inventors Fellow

Zhenqiang Ma (2017)


Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)

Susan Hagness (2000)

Zhenqiang Ma (2008)

Daniel van der Weide (1997)


NSF CAREER (and Young Investigator) Award

Nader Behdad (2011)

John Booske (1990)

Azadeh Davoodi (2011)

Kassem Fawaz (2020)

Susan Hagness (2000)

Hongrui Jiang (2008)

Mikhail Kats (2018)

Younghyun Kim (2019)

Irena Knezevic (2006)

Mikko Lipasti (2001)

Daniel Ludois (2015)

Luke Mawst (1998)

Rob Nowak (1999)

Umit Ogras (2017)

Dimitris Papailiopoulos (2019)

Bulent Sarlioglu (2016)

Eric Severson (2020)

Daniel van der Weide (1997)

Barry Van Veen (1989)

Andreas Velten (2019)

Giri Venkataramanan (1993)

Zongfu Yu (2018)


AFOSR Young Investigator

Nader Behdad (2011)

Mikhail Kats (2017)

Irena Knezevic (2009)

Andreas Velten (2015)


ARO Young Investigator

Rob Nowak (1999)


ONR Young Investigator

Nader Behdad (2011)

Mikhail Kats (2016)

Rob Nowak (2000)

Daniel van der Weide (1998)


DARPA Young Faculty Award

Hongrui Jiang (2008)

Zhenqiang Ma (2008)

Umit Ogras (2018)

Zongfu Yu (2017)


IEEE Education Activities Board Major Education Innovation Award

John Booske (2014) – for leadership in developing, implementing and promoting student-centered active learning methodologies


IEEE Education Society Mac E. Van Valkenburg Early Career Teaching Award

Susan Hagness (2007) – for demonstrating the benefits of a holistic approach to engineering education that emphasizes the human impact of the subject matter with a multifaceted teaching strategy to engage the whole student


IEEE Electronic Devices Society John R. Pierce Award for Excellence in Vacuum Electronics

John Booske (2020) – for innovative, wide-ranging contributions to vacuum electronics science and technology and for tirelessly fostering collaboration, education and new applications


IEEE Nanotechnology Council Early Career Award in Nanotechnology

Mikhail Kats (2020) – for outstanding technical innovations and achievement in nanophotonics, especially for optical metasurfaces, light interaction with nanoscale films, and tunable nanomaterials


IEEE Photonics Society Young Investigator Award

Mikhail Kats (2020) – for contributions in the fields of nanophotonics and optical materials, especially for metasurfaces, optics with phase-transition materials, and thermal-emission engineering”


IEEE PES Cyril Veinott Electromechanical Energy Award

Bulent Sarlioglu (2021) – for contributions to the design, development, and manufacturing of electric motors and drives for industrial and aerospace applications