College to honor distinguished alumni, faculty, staff at 52nd Engineers’ Day

Share this story:

On October 15, the UW-Madison College of Engineering will honor four outstanding faculty and staff members, as well as 12 distinguished alumni and individuals affiliated with the college, during the 52nd annual observance of Engineers’ Day. A free seminar program will be held from 9:00 to noon in room 1610 Engineering Hall. (For a complete schedule of talks, see the Engineers’ Day website.

The college will honor the following individuals at the evening banquet at Monona Terrace Convention Center:

Sindo  Kou

Sindo Kou (large image)

Sindo Kou, a professor of materials science and engineering will receive the Benjamin Smith Reynolds Award for Excellence in Teaching. Contributing to the selection of Kou were his sense of humor and ability to convey interest and excitement about the complex topics he teaches.

Wei-Yin Loh

Wei-Yin Loh (large image)

Professor of Statistics Wei-Yin Loh will also receive the Benjamin Smith Reynolds Award for Excellence in Teaching. Loh has taught a statistics course for engineering students each semester for the past 10 years. He is also known for his sense of humor and an ability to convey his knowledge in a manner that makes students excited and eager to learn.

Raymond J. Fonck

Raymond J. Fonck (large image)

Raymond J. Fonck, a professor of engineering physics, will be presented with the Byron Bird Award for Excellence in a Research Publication. Fonck developed Beam Emission Spectroscopy. The award recognizes Fonck’s contributions to more than 50 publications characterizing fluctuations in toroidal, magnetically confined plasmas.

Karen  Walsh

Karen Walsh (large image)

Karen Walsh will receive the Bollinger Academic Staff Distinguished Achievement Award. As director of the Engineering External Relations, Walsh orchestrates the production of publications and communications that successfully market the college’s research centers, industrial consortia, education programs and college services to potential customers.

Recipients of Distinguished Service Citations, for outstanding careers of 20 or more years in engineering or a related field, are: Julian Barrientos, Robert L. Beran, Robert E. Bisaro, Malcolm P. Branch, Lynn W. Gelhar, William H. Miller, John S. Nelson, James J. Pertzborn, Ronald L. Rossmiller, Jeffrey J. Siirola, Harvey D. Spangler and Michael R. Splinter.