Navigation Content
University of Wisconsin Madison College of Engineering
You are here:
  1. Home > 
  2. News > 
  3. News archive > 
  4. 2012 > 
  5. College of Engineering dean finalists to speak on campus

College of Engineering dean finalists to speak on campus

Engineering Mall in fall 2012.

The four candidates for dean of the College of Engineering will visit campus to speak with faculty, staff, students and campus leaders. They will deliver public presentations that center around the theme, "issues and opportunities for colleges of engineering." Each 30- to 45-minute presentation will take place in 1106 Mechanical Engineering at 3:30 p.m., followed by a reception in the Mechanical Engineering lobby.

Video of each candidate's presentation will be available through this page following the final presentation on November 5. View each finalist's curriculum vitae here, on the UW-Madison Secretary of the Faculty website.

The schedule is:

  • Thursday, October 25—Christopher Ober, Francis Norwood Bard Professor of Materials Engineering at Cornell University. View video of Ober's presentation.
  • Monday, October 29—William Wepfer, Eugene C. Gwaltney Jr. Chair in the George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology. View video of Wepfer's presentation.
  • Thursday, November 1—Ian Robertson, Donald B. Willett Professor of Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and director of the National Science Foundation Division of Materials Research. View video of Robertson's presentation.
  • Monday, November 5—Ramamoorthy Ramesh, Plato Malozemoff Chair of Materials Science and Engineering and professor of physics at the University of California, Berkeley. View video of Ramesh's presentation.

UW-Madison Chancellor David Ward and Provost Paul DeLuca appreciate feedback about the finalists. Send comments to by no later than the end of the day on Friday, November 9.

Engineering External Relations

About the college

Dean finalists announcement

Search committee

Cynthia Bachmann
Vice president of engineering for Kohler Kitchen and Bath and member of the College of Engineering Board of Visitors

Sue Babcock
Professor of materials science and engineering

Naomi Chesler
Professor of biomedical engineering

Christopher DeMarco
Professor of electrical and computer engineering

Norman Drinkwater
Professor of oncology

Evelyn Fine
Associate researcher, Women in Science and Engineering Leadership Institute

Albert Gnadt
Engineering undergraduate

Thomas F. Kuech
Chair of chemical and biological engineering

John Lee
Professor of industrial and systems engineering

Katherine McMahon
Professor of civil and environmental engineering

Gregory Moses
Professor of engineering physics

Erick Oberstar
Engineering graduate student

François Ortalo-Magné
Dean, School of Business

James Rawlings
Professor of chemical and biological engineering

Christopher Rutland
Professor of mechanical engineering

Carl Vieth
Associate faculty associate, engineering professional development