Page top
Skip navigation
UW-Madison crest

College Directory
College Directory


Content begins

2008 College Directory

This list of the College of Engineering consortia, centers and services is current as of September 2008. Read detailed information about these entities in the annual report companion publication, the 2008 COLLEGE DIRECTORY. If you would like to obtain a free printed copy, contact:

Engineering External Relations
433 Wendt Library
215 North Randall Avenue
Madison, WI 53706
Tel: 608/263-0611
Fax: 608/263-9259


Biomedical Engineering Center for Translational Research
Robert G. Radwin (Director)
Lawrence Casper, Jeffrey Grossman (Director)
Tel: 608/263-4660 — Fax: 608/265-9239
Center for Health Systems Research and Analysis
David R. Zimmerman (Director)
Tel: 608/263-4875 — Fax: 608/263-4523
Center for Human Performance and Risk Analysis
Vicki M. Bier (Director)
Tel: 608/262-2064 — Fax: 608/262-8454
Center for NanoTechnology
Franco Cerrina (Director)
Tel: 608/263-4955 — Fax: 608/265-3811
Paul Nealey (Associate Director) Tel: 608/265-8171
Center for Plasma-Aided Manufacturing
Noah Hershkowitz (Director)
Tel: 608/263-4970 — Fax: 608/265-2364
Center for Plasma Theory and Computation
Chris C. Hegna (Director), John E. Scharer (Co-Director)
Tel: 608/263-8142 — Fax: 608/265-2438
Center for Power Electronics Systems (CPES)
Thomas A. Lipo (Campus Director)
Tel: 608/262-0287 — Fax: 608/262-5559
Center for Quality and Productivity Improvement (CQPI)
Pascale Carayon (Director)
Tel: 608/263-2520 — Fax: 608/263-1425
Center for Quick Response Manufacturing
Ananth Krishnamurthy (Director)
Tel: 608/262-4709 — Fax: 608/265-4017
Center for Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology (CREATe)
Jay Martin (Director)
Darryl Thelen (Associate Director)
Tel: 608/263-9460 — Fax: 608/265-2316
Center for Structurally Integrated Micro/Nano-Systems (SIMNS)
Xiaochun Li (Director)
Tel: 608/262-6142 — Fax: 608/265-2316
Computational Mechanics Center
Roxann L. Engelstad (Director)
Gregory Nellis (Associate Director)
Tel: 608/262-5745 — Fax: 608/265-2316
Construction and Materials Support Center (CMSC)
Awad Hanna (Director)
Tel: 608/263-8903 — Fax: 608/262-1228
Disaster Management Center
Don Schramm (Director)
Tel: 608/262-5441 — Fax: 608/263-3160
Engine Research Center
David Foster (Director)
Tel: 608/263-1617 — Fax: 608/262-6707
Kevin Hoag (Associate Director)
Fusion Technology Institute
Gerald L. Kulcinski (Director)
Tel: 608/263-2308 — Fax: 608/263-4499
HSX Plasma Laboratory
David T. Anderson (Director)
Tel: 608/262-0172 — Fax: 608/262-1267
HVAC and R Center
Douglas T. Reindl (Director)
Tel: 608/262-8045 — Fax: 608/262-6209
Laboratory for Plasma Science
Raymond J. Fonck (Co-Director),
Noah Hershkowitz (Co-Director)
Tel: 608/263-7799 — Fax: 608/265-2364
Laboratory for Thin-Film Deposition
Max G. Lagally (Director)
Tel: 608/263-2078 — Fax: 608/265-4118
Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (MRSEC)
Juan J. de Pablo (Director)
Tel: 608/265-3783 — Fax: 608/265-4036
Materials Science Center
Jon J. McCarthy (Director)
Tel: 608/263-1073 — Fax: 608/262-8353
Mechatronics Laboratory
Erick Oberstar (Laboratory Manager)
Tel: 608/262-5026 — Fax: 608/265-2316
Nanoscale Science and Engineering Center (NSEC)
Paul F. Nealey (Director)
Tel: 608/265-3783 — Fax: 608/262-5434
Polymer Engineering Center
Tim A. Osswald (Co-Director)
Tel: 608/263-9538 — Fax: 608/265-2316
Lih-Sheng (Tom) Turng (Co-Director)
Tel: 608/262-0586
Power Systems Engineering Research Center (PSerc)
Christopher L. DeMarco (Site Director)
Tel: 608/262-5546 — Fax: 608/262-1267
Powertrain Control Research Laboratory
John J. Moskwa (Director)
Tel: 608/263-2423 — Fax: 608/265-2316
Reed Center for Photonics
Dan Botez (Director)
Tel: 608/265-4643 — Fax: 608/265-4623
Rheology Research Center
A. Jeffrey Giacomin (Chair)
Tel: 608/262-7473 — Fax: 608/262-7473
Solar Energy Laboratory
Sanford Klein (Director)
Tel: 608/263-5626 — Fax: 608/262-8464
Solid and Hazardous Waste Education Center
Patrick Walsh (Director)
Tel: 608/262-0385 — Fax: 608/262-6250
Trace Research and Development Center
Gregg C. Vanderheiden (Director)
Tel: 608/262-6966 — Fax: 608/262-8848
Transportation Information Center
Steve Pudloski (Director)
Tel: 608/265-2314 — Fax: 608/263-3160
UW E-Business Institute
Raj Veeramani (Director)
Tel: 608/265-0861 — Fax: 608/262-8454
UW Energy Institute
Paul Meier (Director)
Tel: 608/262-4515 — Fax: 608/263-7451
UW Technology Enterprise Cooperative (UW-TEC)
Paul S. Peercy (Co-Director)
Molly Jahn (Co-Director)
Michael Knetter (Co-Director)
Tel: 608/265-4104 — Fax: 608/262-6400
Water Science and Engineering Laboratory
James Schauer (Director)
Tel: 608/262-2470 — Fax: 608/262-0454
Wisconsin Center for Applied Microelectronics (WCAM)
Dan Christenson (Laboratory Manager)
Tel: 608/262-6877 — Fax: 608/265-2614
Wisconsin Center for Space Automation and Robotics (WCSAR)
Weijia Zhou (Director)
Tel: 608/262-5526 — Fax: 608/262-9458
Wisconsin Institute of Nuclear Systems
Michael L. Corradini (Director)
Tel: 608/263-2196 — Fax: 608/263-7451
Wisconsin Power Electronics Research Center
Thomas A. Lipo (Director)
Tel: 608/262-0287 — Fax: 608/262-5559
Wisconsin Structures and Materials Testing Laboratory
Steven M. Cramer (Director)
Tel: 608/265-8214 — Fax: 608/265-8213
Wisconsin Traffic Operations and Safety Laboratory (TOPS)
Todd Szymkowski (Deputy Director)
Tel: 608/263-2684 — Fax: 608/262-5199
Wisconsin Transportation Center
Teresa Adams (Director)
Tel: 608/263-2655 — Fax: 608/263-2512
Back to topEnd of page