University of Wisconsin-Madison College of Engineering Annual Report 2003
UW-Madison College of Engineering banner 
2003 Annual Report banner

Home > News & Events > Annual Reports

College Directory

This list of the college's consortia, centers and services is complete as of September 2003. The complete list can be found in the companion publication, the COE Directory 2003, which is available as an Adobe Acrobat PDF file. To obtain a printed copy, contact:

Engineering External Relations
433 Wendt Library
215 North Randall Avenue
Madison, WI 53706
Tel: 608/263-5988 Fax: 608/263-9259

The complete directory may also be found on-line in PDF format at:


Biomedical Engineering Student Design Consortium
Robert G. Radwin (Director) Tel: 608/263-6596
CHESS Health Education Consortium
Betta H. Owens (Director) Tel: 608/262-4746
Consortium for Fly Ash Use in Geotechnical Applications
Tuncer B. Edil (Co-Director) Tel: 608/265-0645
Craig H. Benson (Co-Director)
Global E-Business Consortium (CGEC)

Raj Veeramani (Director) Tel: 608/262-0861
Jackie Novak (Assistant Director)
Alfonso Gutierrez (Assistant Director)
Engineering Polymer Industrial Consortium (EPIC)
Tim A. Osswald (Director) Tel: 608/263-9538
Ergonomics Analysis and Design Consortium
Robert G. Radwin (Director) Tel: 608/263-6596
Human Performance In Complex Systems Consortium
Vicki Bier (Director) Tel: 608/263-7456
Industrial Hand Tool and Ergonomics Research Consortium
Robert G. Radwin (Director) Tel: 608/263-6596
Industrial Refrigeration Consortium
Douglas Reindl (Director) Tel: 608/262-8220
Power Systems Engineering Research Center (PSerc)
Robert Lasseter (Site Director) Tel: 608/262-0186
Dennis Ray (Executive Director)
Quick Response Manufacturing Consortium
Rajan Suri (Director) Tel: 608/262-4709
Wisconsin Consortium for Applied Water Quality Research
Gregory Harrington (Director) Tel: 608/263-7773
Wisconsin Electric Machines and Power Electronics Consortium (WEMPEC)
Thomas A. Lipo (Co-Director) Tel: 608/262-0287
Robert D. Lorenz (Co-Director) Tel: 608/262-5343
Wisconsin Plasma Processing and Technology Research Consortium
Noah . Hershkowitz (Director) Tel: 608/263-4970


Applied Superconductivity Center
David C. Larbalestier (Director) Tel: 608/263-2194
Biomedical Engineering Center
Robert G. Radwin (Director) Tel: 608/263-6596
Center for Health Systems Research and Analysis
David R. Zimmerman (Director) Tel: 608/263-4875
Center for Human Performance and Risk Analysis
Vicki Bier (Director) Tel: 608/263-7456
Center for NanoTechnology
Franco Cerrina (Director) Tel: 608/263-4955
Paul Nealey (Associate Director) Tel: 608/265-8171
J. W. Taylor (Associate Director) Tel: 608/877-2403
Center for Plasma-Aided Manufacturing
Noah . Hershkowitz (Director) Tel: 608/263-4970
Center for Plasma Theory and Computation
James D. Callen (Director) Tel: 608/263-8142
John E. Scharer (Co-Director)
Center for Power Electronics Systems
Thomas A. Lipo (Campus Director) Tel: 608/262-0287
Center for Quality and Productivity Improvement (CQPI)
Pascale Carayon (Director) Tel: 608/263-2520
Center for Quick Response Manufacturing
Rajan Suri (Director) Tel: 608/262-4709
Center on Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology (CREATe)
Jay Martin (Director) Tel: 608/263-9460
Nicola Ferrier (Associate Director) Tel: 608/265-8793
Computational Mechanics Center
Roxann Engelstad (Director) Tel: 608/262-5745
Gregory Nellis (Associate Director)
Disaster Management Center
Donald Schramm (Director) Tel: 608/262-5441
eMedia Center
Christopher Rutland (Director) Tel: 608/262-5853; 608/263-1584, 608/265-5092 (Lab) (Lab)
Michael Redmond (Associate Director)
Engine Research Center
Rolf Reitz (Director) Tel: 608/262-0145
Kevin Hoag (Associate Director) Tel: 608/263-1610
Fusion Technology Institute
Gerald L. Kulcinski (Director) Tel: 608/263-2308
HSX Plasma Laboratory
David T. Anderson (Director) Tel: 608/262-0172
HVAC and R Center
Douglas T. Reindl (Director) Tel: 608/262-8045
Laboratory for Thin-Film Deposition
Max G. Lagally (Director) Tel: 608/263-2078
Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (MRSEC)
Juan J. de Pablo (Director) Tel: 608/262-0112
Materials Science Center
Paul S. Peercy (Acting Director) Tel: 608/263-1795
Midwest Regional University Transportation Center
Ernest F. Wittwer (Director) Tel: 608/262-2251
Pegasus Plasma Experiment
Raymond J. Fonck (Director) Tel: 608/263-7799
Polymer Engineering Center
Tim A. Osswald (Co-Director) Tel: 608/263-9538
Lih-Sheng (. Turng (Co-Director) Tel: 608/262-0586
Polymerization Reaction Engineering Laboratory
W. Harmon Ray (Director) Tel: 608/263-0288
Power Systems Engineering Research Center (PSerc)
Robert H. Lasseter (Site Director) Tel: 608/262-0186
Reed Center for Photonics
Dan Botez (Director) Tel: 608/265-4643
Rheology Research Center
A. Jeffrey Giacomin (Chair) Tel: 608/262-7473 (AM-A-PIPE)
Solar Energy Laboratory
William Beckman (Director) Tel: 608/263-1590
Solid and Hazardous Waste Education Center
Phillip (Jack) Annis (Co-Director) Tel: 608/262-0385
Patrick Walsh (Co-Director) Tel: 608/262-0385
Trace Research and Development Center
Gregg C. Vanderheiden (Director) Tel: 608/262-6966
Transportation Information Center
Donald Walker (Director) Tel: 608/265-2314
UW Technology Enterprise Cooperative (UW-TEC)
Paul S. Peercy, Elton Aberle, Michael Knetter (Co-Directors)
Anne Miner (School of Business Liaison)
Wisconsin Center for Applied Microelectronics (WCAM)
Daniel Christensen (Laboratory Manager) Tel: 608/262-6877
Wisconsin Center for Space Automation and Robotics (WCSAR)
Weijia Zhou (Director) Tel: 608/262-5526
Wisconsin Center for Space Automation and Robotics
545 Science Drive
Madison, WI 53711

Tel: 608/262-5526
Fax: 608/262-9458

Wisconsin Institute of Nuclear Systems
Michael L. Corradini (Director) Tel: 608/263-2196
Wisconsin Power Electronics Research Center
Thomas A. Lipo (Director) Tel: 608/262-0287
Wisconsin Structures and Materials Testing Laboratory
Steven M. Cramer (Director) Tel: 608/265-8214
Wisconsin Traffic Operations and Safety (TOPS) Laboratory
Todd Szymkowski (Program Manager) Tel: 608/263-2684


Co-op Education/Internship Program
John Archambault (Director) Tel: 608/262-3471
Diversity Affairs Office
Douglass L. Henderson (Assistant Dean) Tel: 608/263-0808
Gwen L. Ebert (Undergraduate Coordinator)
Kelly R. Burton (Graduate Coordinator)
Engineering Career Services (ECS)
Sandra Arnn (Assistant Dean) Tel: 608/262-3471
Engineering Development Office
J. Lance Cavanaugh (Senior Director of Development) Tel: 608/263-4545 Deb . Holt (Director of Development) Carrie . McGinley (Director of Development)
Engineering External Relations
Karen Walsh (Assistant Dean) Tel: 608/263-5988
Engineering Media Services
Robert Perras (Director) Tel: 608/263-9726
International Engineering Studies and Programs
Marianne Bird Bear (Coordinator) Tel: 608/263-2191
Kurt F. Wendt Library
Thomas Murray (Director) Tel: 608/262-3493
Office of Engineering Outreach
Helene Demont (Program Manager) Tel: 608/262-5516 or 888/661-9551
(toll free: 888/661-9551)
Office of Engineering R&D and Technology Transfer
Lawrence Casper (Assistant Dean) Tel: 608/265-4104
Engineering General Resources Office
Donald Woolston (Assistant Dean) Tel: 608/262-2473
Wisconsin TechSearch
Leonard Black (Director) Tel: 608/262-5917
Women in Science and Engineering Leadership Institute (WISELI)
Molly Carnes (Director) Tel: 608/263-1445
Jo Handelsman (Director)
Jennifer Sheridan (Research Director)


University of
Wisconsin-Madison College of Engineering logo

Copyright 2003 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System
Date last modified: 10-Nov-2009
Date created: 14-Oct-2003