Mechanical Engineering newsletter masthead

FALL/WINTER 2001-2002

Featured articles

Engineering students play key
role at Lindberg/
Blue M Electric

ME and Parker-Hannifin
dedicate gift to
mechatronics lab

CREATing new avenues
for intelligent

New polymer engineering
center holds industry
consortium conference

ME department awards
$200,000 on scholarship

Honor roll 2000:
Mechanical engineering

Engineering students host
national convention

ME students join Clean
Snowmobile Challenge

Regular features

Message from the chair

Alumni news

Student news

Faculty news

Faculty news

Patrick V. Farrell

Patrick V. Farrell
(16K JPG)

Professor Patrick V. Farrell was appointed new associate dean for academic affairs in the college, replacing Professor Michael Corradini, who has stepped down to serve as chair of the engineering physics department. Farrell, who joined the ME faculty in 1982, was a member of the team that developed EPD 160, the freshman design course, and he is a member of the UW Teaching Academy. He began his appointment in May.

Professor Christopher Rutland received two grants from the Department of Energy's new Scientific Discovery through Advanced Computing (SciDAC) program. For the first project, entitled "Terascale High-Fidelity Simulations of Turbulent Combustion with Detailed Chemistry: Spray Simulations," Rutland will serve as a co-primary investigator with colleagues at the University of Maryland and the University of Michigan. Rutland will receive $228,400 for the three-year grant to implement a "first principles" simulation of reacting spray physics on massively parallel computers to be used in the study of turbulent homogeneous combustion ignition. In the second project, "An Algorithmic and Software Framework for Applied Partial Differential Equations: Combustion Applications," Rutland will collaborate with researchers at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. Rutland's share of the three-year grant is $300,000, and he will focus on fundamental turbulent combustion studies of fuel-air mixture preparations using advanced large-scale simulation techniques.

The National Science Foundation has issued a $263,365 grant to fund a Major Research Instrumentation Program (MRI) in the college. The grant was supplemented by $112,870 in matching funds from UW-Madison. Co-primary investigators of this project include Professors Tim A. Osswald, A. Jeffrey Giacomin. The MRI program is designed to increase access to scientific and engineering equipment for research and research training in academic institutions across the United States. At UW-Madison, the grant will enhance the Polymer Engineering Center (PEC) research facility and foster greater industrial support through the Engineering Polymer Industrial Consortium (EPIC).

Professor Jay Martin was named a fellow of the UW Teaching Academy.

Professor Vadim Shapiro has received two grants from the National Science Foundation. The first grant of $270,000 over three years will support development of computational tools for modeling, design and analysis of shapes manufactured with non-homogeneous materials that may change composition layer by layer or point by point. The second grant of $300,000 is part of the Information Technology Research program and will help Shapiro investigate a geometric approach to physical modeling, where a new geometric computer language will eliminate many tedious symbolic and numerical computations.

Professor Rolf Reitz has accepted appointment as director of the Engine Research Center. He is one of eight ME current and former faculty who are center members.

Polygon, the engineering student council, announced winners of its annual instructor awards last spring. Professor David Foster was selected as outstanding ME professor, and David Branson was chosen outstanding ME teaching assistant.

Professor Sanford A. Klein was appointed as William A. and Irene Ouweneel-Bascom Professor. Established in 1980, the Ouweneel-Bascom Professorship supports a faculty member in the field of solar energy. Klein has made major contributions to the field over the last 30 years and was named last summer as one of the first fellows of the American Solar Energy Society.

Professor Don Ermer has been chosen to receive the national Eugene L. Grant Medal from the American Society for Quality. The medal is presented for outstanding leadership in the development and presentation of a meritorious educational program in quality control.

Professor John J. Moskwa has received a $382,000 grant from General Motors Corp. to perform research and develop control algorithms for a new cam-less engine. Prototype cam-less hardware for both single- and multi-cylinder engines are expected to be delivered to his Powertrain Control Research Laboratory (PCRL) as part of this program. Also, Moskwa and PhD student John L. Lahti are designing and developing a new type of single-cylinder engine transient dynamometer that will extend the capabilities and range of operation significantly beyond the current test systems used in the industry. WARF Professor Tim Osswald will receive the prestigious Dr. Richard Escales Prize. The prize was established in 1998 by the VDI-K (Polymers Division of the German Engineering Society) to honor a scientist of international reputation who has contributed to the development of new knowledge in the plastics field as well as transfer of knowledge to the plastics industry. It is regarded as Europe's highest award given by the plastics industry to a researcher and scientist active in the polymer engineering field.


ME News is published twice a year for alumni, students and friends of the ME department.

Send address changes and other correspondence to:

Department of Mechanical Engineering
1513 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706-1572

For HTML and other technical matters, contact:

Date last modified: Thursday, 17-Jan-2002 10:51:00 CST
Date created: 17-Jan-2002

Copyright 2006 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System

ME News homepageDepartment of Mechanical EngineeringCollege of EngineeringUW-Madison |

ME News homepage Department of Mechanical Engineering homepage College of Engineering homepage UW-Madison homepage Department of Mechanical Engineering homepage