A newsletter for alumni, students, and friends of the Mechanical Engineering Department at the University of Wisconsin-Madison

Faculty & Staff News

Professor Kenneth W. Ragland will be retiring from the ME Department as of June 30. Ragland has been chair of the department since 1995 and has been a part of the faculty since 1968. He taught fluid dynamics, combustion and air pollution control, and conducted research on combustion of coal and biomass.

Prior to coming to the UW he spent a year on the US-USSR exchange program at the University of Novosibirsk, and before that three years at the U.S. Navy's Pacific Missile Center in California.

A retirement dinner will be held for Professor Ragland in early fall. For further information, please contact Gail Gawenda at 608/263-2668 or e-mail at

Professor John W. Mitchell has been selected by ASHRAE to receive the 1998 Journal Paper Award for his article entitled "Energy Savings from Pump Impeller Trimming." He will receive the award at the society's annual meeting in Seattle in June.

Professor Vladimir J. Lumelsky has been spending the 1998-99 school year on sabbatical in Washington, D.C. with the National Science Foundation's Division of Knowledge which supports creative research. He is program director for Sensor-based Intelligent Systems Computational Engineering, Domain-specific Computing.
Professor Martin in dunk tank

Professor Jay K. Martin, who is the new director of the Engine Research Center, volunteered to be in the E-Week dunk tank, a charity fund-raiser attraction set up by Theta Tau engineering fraternity. (43K JPG)

Frank J. Fronczak has been promoted from Associate Professor to Professor, and John M. Pfotenhauer has been promoted from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor in the ME Department.

As the result of undergraduate voting, Polygon Teaching Awards have been presented to Assistant Professor Jaal B. Ghandhi and Teaching Assistant Justin Borgstadt.

The "Engineering Equation Solver" computer program developed by Professor Sanford A. Klein with several other faculty has been adopted by McGraw-Hill and distributed with four of their textbooks.

Assistant Professor Jaal B. Ghandhi has been named to receive the National Science Foundation CAREER award. The NSF grant is a prestigious Faculty Early Career Development award to recognize outstanding young faculty in science and engineering by providing flexible support for research and teaching. Ghandhi's current research is on hydrocarbon emission mechanisms in direct-injection spark-ignition engines.

Assistant Professor Ghandhi has also received the Ralph R. Teetor educational award from the Society of Automotive Engineers. The award encourages young engineering educators to meet and exchange views with practicing engineers.

Professor Jay K. Martin has become the new director of the Engine Research Center, replacing Professor David E. Foster, who continues on the faculty.

Professors Sanford A. Klein and Douglas T. Reindl as well as students Kyle Brownell, Joy Altwies, and Andre Gan were featured in an article about fuel efficiency in the most recent issue of At Work for Wisconsin, published by the College of Engineering. The article highlighted their work with the Madison Ice Arena to increase cooling power and reduce costs, with Sub-Zero to meet energy standards in their high-end refrigerators, and with Agrilink Foods to lower cooling costs in their cold storage warehouse.
Kevin L. Hoag

Kevin L. Hoag
(27K JPG)

Kevin L. Hoag has joined the Engine Research Center within the department as a new academic staff member with responsibilities for administration and research coordination. Hoag received both his BS and MS degrees from the ME department and recently spent 16 years at Cummins Engine in Indiana.

Professor Rajit Gadh has organized a consortium for industrial partners to collaborate with UW researchers in virtual design, computer graphics, and other kinds of computer modeling of potential products. Known as "CAD-IT Consortium," or, Complex Artifactual Design through Integration of Information Technologies, the group plans to develop the next generation of design tools using advanced computers and the Internet. To find out more about the consortium, you can visit their website at .

Professor Donald S. Ermer has been appointed to the 1999 board of examiners for the Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Award. Last year he was on the state board that selected Serigraph Inc. of West Bend for the Governor's Award for Excellence.

The ERC has announced the winning of a competitive program with the U.S. Army's National Automotive Center under the Department of Defense's Dual Use Application Program. The initial program commitment is for three years, and will total $7.21 million, including both government and industrial partner commitment.

The Engine Research Center will be hosting two national gatherings for engine researchers, the Engine Symposium entitled "The Next 50 Years of Engine Research" June 10-11, and the SAE Small Engine Technology Conference Exposition September 28-30. For more information, visit the ERC website,

Professor David E. Foster recently returned from a two-week visit to Japan as part of a collaborative program between the Japanese Traffic Safety and Nuisance Research Institute and our Engine Research Center. He lectured on engine and emission control technologies, and visited labs at Traffic Safety and Nuisance, Toyota Central Research Laboratory, Hiroshima University, JSME Kyoto Research Park, Nippon Oil, Mechanical Engineering Laboratory, New ACE, and HINO Motors. Foster's travel was supported by the Japanese Ministry of Transport.

ME Newsletter is a periodic publication of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Department of Mechanical Engineering. Correspondence should be sent to the address below.

ME Newsletter
Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
1513 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706-1572

      Editor: Gail Gawenda

Designer: Lynda Litzkow

Last Modified: Wednesday, 07-Jul-1999 17:00:00 CDT

SPRING 1999 Contents