A newsletter for alumni, students, and friends of the Mechanical Engineering Department at the University of Wisconsin-Madison

Dean Bollinger is Guest of Honor at 23rd Annual Scholarship Night

ME Department Chair Kenneth W. Ragland presided over the awarding of a record $102,000 in scholarships to 65 undergraduate students at the Mechanical Engineering Scholarship Night on September 24. Most of these students were present to receive their certificates from their benefactors, donors who ranged from ME alumni to corporate sponsors.
Ragland with scholarship winners

Department Chair Kenneth W. Ragland presents the Donald and Emily Henderson Scholarship to Sarah Brehmer and Jenny Topinka. (13K JPG)

Among the special guests and honorees was John G. Bollinger, Dean of the College of Engineering. Bollinger presented one of the scholarships and addressed the group. (He will be retiring from his position as dean at the end of the current academic year.) Other guests were Pre-Engineering Dean Donald C. Woolston; John Archambault, director of Engineering Cooperative Education; Julie J. Rae, director of Engineering Development for UW Foundation; and Professor Franco Cerrina, Electrical and Computer Engineering.
Slide Rule Scholarhip winners

Donors of the Slide Rule Scholarship presented the department with a larger than life sized replica of a slide rule. Pictured are Joshua Peterson, this year's recipient, and Scott McKenzie, last year's recipient of the Slide Rule Scholarship. The model is now displayed in the ME Building Lobby. (11K JPG)

Among the highlights of the evening were four new scholarships: the Faustin Prinz Scholarships to four students, the Milwaukee Foundation's Norma and Eugene Hayman Scholarship presented to two students, the Kaiser Scholarship from Mr. and Mrs. Elmer Kaiser, and the GE Corporate Scholarship.

The other scholarships presented during the evening were the Francis Drew Winkley, Donald E. Graves, Archie H. Easton Memorial, Benjamin Wu Memorial, Caterpillar Excellence, Richard E. Rogers Design, SRC Undergraduate Research, Anspach/ROTC, Robert J. Mensel, Charles A. Gilpin Memorial, Boeing, John Deere Foundation, Donald L. and Emily Henderson, Lewis Raymond Brown, Carrie and Merrill Hogeboom, Edward F. Obert Memorial, GE Corporate, Slide Rule, Donald A. Furstenberg, Racine Alumni, Gilbert and Genevieve Buske, John Adams Dickie, Benjamin G. Elliott, John H. Johnson, Joseph D. and Donald F. Livermore, Theodore Miller, John W. and Roberta J. Mink, Neitzel-Steinmetz, Richard A. Zevnik Memorial, WV Distinguished (COE), Ford Motor Company, Gustav A. Rehm Memorial, Alcoa Foundation, Rohn, David C. Spraker, Bob Mehn (SPE), Alumni, Carl B. and Carolyn S. Rowe, ASHRAE/Gustus L. Larson, and David M. Ver Hagen.

ME Newsletter is a periodic publication of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Department of Mechanical Engineering. Correspondence should be sent to the address below.

ME Newsletter
Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
1513 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706-1572

      Editor: Gail Gawenda

Designer: Lynda Litzkow

Last Modified: Monday, 15-Feb-1999 12:00:00 CST

DECEMBER 1998 Contents