University of Wisconsin-Madison Industrial and Systems Engineering College of Engineering University of Wisconsin-Madison Industrial and Systems Engineering
For Future Students

Undergraduate Program

Graduate Program


Faculty Profiles

Course Descriptions

Graduate School

Student Life


Visiting Campus

ISyE student advisory board

The ISyE 2008 student advisory board view larger image

The University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering faculty members have made a direct difference in the lives of people and organizations throughout the world. They have:

  • Influenced federal policy related to safety and health issues in the workplace.
  • Designed ergonomically sound tools and workstations to reduce worker injuries and health problems.

  • Designed new approaches for implementing office automation to increase productivity and reduce stress.

  • Developed tools to dramatically improve our ability to optimize manufacturing systems.

  • Created improved methods to monitor quality of care in nursing homes and quality of products in manufacturing and service industries.

  • Helped corporations create factories of the future, improving the United States' competitive position at a time when industrial vitality is a serious concern.

  • Developed mathematical models that enable researchers to analyze diverse scenarios and recommend workable solutions to complex problems.

  • Established new theories for enhancing quality and productivity in manufacturing, service industries and government.

  • Developed theories and approaches for re-engineering inner-cities to enhance the quality of life for economically disadvantaged residents.

Industrial and Systems Engineering faculty members are frequent recipients of awards and professional recognition. Recent honors include the following:

  • Appointed Fellow of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) — Stephen Robinson
  • Alpha Pi Mu's IE Undergraduate Professor Teaching Award — Harold Steudel
  • Military Operations Research Society's John K. Walker Jr. Award — Stephen Robinson
  • Appointed to the American Medical Directors Association Foundation's board of directors, Secretary-Treasurer — David Zimmerman
  • Elected to Institute of Medicine — Patricia Flatley Brennan
  • Appointed to Board on Mathematical Sciences and Their Applications, NRC, 2001-2007 — Stephen Robinson
  • Nominated to the Board of Directors of the Wisconsin Patient Safety Institute — Pascale Carayon
  • Appointed to the Committee on Human Factors for the National Research Council — Robert Radwin
  • Elected Chair of the Canadian National Sciences and Engineering Research Council through July 2002 — Pascale Carayon (only non-Canadian member)
  • Elected to the CIRP (College International pour l’Etude Scientifíque des Tecniques de Production Mecanique; International Institution for Production Engineering Research) — Darek Ceglarek
  • Received the ACM Social Impact Award for the HCI Community in Spring 2005 — Gregg Vanderheiden
  • Appointed to the National Academies Institute of Medicine Committee on Disability in America. This committee will consider continuing gaps in disability science and the evidence base for public and private actions to reduce the impact of disability and related conditions on individuals and society in the United States, issuing a report in 2006. Gregg Vanderheiden
  • Received the 2006 Albert M. Sargent Progress Award from the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) for significant contributions to manufacturing industry through the creation and implementation of the Quick Response Manufacturing (QRM) philosophy. Rajan Suri

Thanks for visiting our homepage.

Patricia Flatley Brennan

contacting us

Industrial and Systems Engineering Department
University of Wisconsin-Madison
3270 Mechanical Engineering
1513 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706

Tel: 608/262-2686
Fax: 608/262-8454

degrees offered

B.S. Industrial Engineering
M.S. Industrial Engineering
PhD Industrial Engineering

Date last modified: 24-Jul-2009 15:43:15  · Date created: 19-Jul-1999
Content by:  ·  Accessibility  ·  Web services
Copyright 2010 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System