College of Engineering University of Wisconsin-Madison
Decorative header to link to Department of Engineering Physics

Graphic of the latest EP-isode newsletter The Fountain
EPISODE: The Engineering Physics Department Newsletter


Spring / Summer 2006
Featured articles

Fonck named chief scientist for international fusion experiment

Physicists persevere in quest for inexhaustible energy source

Radiation studies key to nuclear reactor life, recycling spent fuel

Systems analysis may guide fuel-cycle decisions

Regular Features

Message from the chair

Faculty News

Student News

Alumni News


spacer Button for homepage of EPisode newsletter Button to obtain BACK ISSUES Button to CONTACT US Button to JOIN OUR MAILING LIST Button that connects to UW Foundation page for online giving  


The American Nuclear Society awarded scholarships to three UW-Madison students: Undergrads Mike Priaulx ($2,000 ANS Undergraduate Scholarship) and Jong Lim ($2,000 ANS Charles “Tommy” Thomas Memorial Scholarship), and grad student Kent Wardle ($3,000 ANS John Randall Memorial Scholarship).

Three students in the UW-Madison ANS student section received awards for presentations they gave at the ANS student conference at Renssalaer Polytechnic Institute:

• PhD student Ross Radel received a first-place award in the nuclear non-proliferation and international safeguards category for his talk, “Detection of HEU using a pulsed inertial electrostatic confinement D-D fusion device.”

• Undergraduate Scott Baalrud received a NASA award in the aerospace section for his talk, “The nature of an electron sheath in steady-state low-pressure plasma.”

• Undergraduate McLean Machut won best presentation in materials science and engineering for his talk, “Modeling of corrosion mechanisms of steels for lead-alloy cooled reactors.”

The students conducted their research, respectively, with Grainger Professor Gerald Kulcinski, Irving Langmuir Professor Noah Hershkowitz and Assistant Professor Todd Allen.

Senior Kyle Oliver won top honors and $5,000 in the 2006 Steuber Prize for Excellence in Writing for his essay, “How I remembered Rachel.”

The NASA Academy awarded grad student Matt Gajda a Dr. Gerald A. Soffen Memorial Fund Travel Grant to present a paper at the 10th ASCE Aerospace International Conference on Earth & Space in Houston, March 5-8. Gajda’s winning paper was on the design of a lunar miner to recover volatiles on the Moon for life support at future bases and energy production on Earth. His co-authors were Grainger Professor Gerald Kulcinski, Research Professor John Santarius, and scientists Gregory Sviatoslavsky and Igor Sviatoslavsky.


For help with this webpage:

Copyright 2006 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System

Date last modified: Friday, 23-June-2006 11:49:00 CDT
Date created: 23-June-2006