www.engr.wisc.edu/ep College of EngineeringThe University of Wisconsin-Madison
Department of Engineering Physics Nuclear Engineering / Engineering Physics / Engineering Mechanics & Astronautics


Featured Articles

Teaching with wind

NEEP graduates attend climate change conference

Group visits Japan

Increasing minority numbers in nuclear engineering

Measuring friction on a smaller scale

Fonck receives awards

Alumna is U.S. space liaison

EMA graduate receives distinguished service award

Regular Features

Message from the chair

Faculty News

Alumni News

In Memoriam

Faculty News

James D. Callen

Professor James Callen is on sabbatical this year. He is spending his time in Tennessee, working on his book on plasma theory. Although still in draft form, selected chapters are being used as the text for NE (NEEP) 525 (Introduction to Plasma Physics) this semester. The book promises to be a landmark in plasma physics literature when it is completed.
Walter J. Drugan

Professor Walter Drugan spent the fall 1999 semester on sabbatical in Europe. He was one of six invited lecturers at the International Center for Mechanical Sciences in Udine, Italy, where he gave a weeklong advanced course on material instabilities in elastic and plastic solids. He also was a visiting faculty member at the University of Trento in Italy, where he presented a series of lectures on research topics in mechanics and collaborated in research. In addition, Walt was an invited participant and lecturer in a special program on developments in solid mechanics and materials science at the Isaac Newton Institute at Cambridge University in England.
Gregory A. Moses
Wendy C. Crone

Professor Gregory Moses has resigned as associate dean for research in the College of Engineering and returned 100 percent to the department. In addition to being able to put more time into his research on dense plasmas, Greg is getting back into teaching. He is team-teaching NE (NEEP) 271 (Engineering Problem Solving I) and CS 310 (Problem Solving Using Computers) with Professor John Strikwerda of Computer Sciences. They are developing Internet-based lectures using streaming video to replace the traditional lecture. Once the lectures are completed, students will view them at their convenience. The faculty will spend time interacting with students in hands-on lab and collaborative-learning environments. The goal is to have the Internet-based lectures up and running for the fall semester.

Professor Wendy Crone has received funding from The Whitaker Foundation for research on biomaterials. Her project involves ion implantation of nickel-titanium shape-memory alloys for biomedical applications.
Michael L. Corradini
Gerald L. Kulcinski

Our faculty are also getting more involved in public service at the national level. Professor Gerald Kulcinski (right) has been appointed a member of the National Research Council's Board on Energy and Environmental Systems. Professor Michael Corradini (left) has been appointed to chair the National Research Council's Committee on Long Term Research Needs for High Level Waste at Department of Energy Sites. Mike also chairs a "blue-ribbon" panel for DOE on the future of nuclear engineering departments and university research reactors.
Robert J. Witt
Noah  Hershkowitz

Professor Robert Witt (left) was selected by students to receive the 2000 Polygon Outstanding Instructor Award for the department. Peter Laux was chosen for the Outstanding TA Award. Congratulations to both of them!

Professor Noah Hershkowitz has been elected Fellow of the American Vacuum Society.


EPISODE is published twice a year for alumni and friends of the UW-Madison Department of Engineering Physics.

Send address changes and correspondence to:

Department of Engineering Physics
1500 Engineering Drive
Madison, WI 53706-1687

If you encounter technical problems with this page, notify:


Copyright 2006 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System
Date last modified: Friday, 16-Jun-2000 14:00:00 CDT