College of Engineering University of Wisconsin-Madison
Decorative header to link to Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Graphic of the ECE newsletter The Fountain
ECE NEWS :The Electrical & Computer Engineering Department Newsletter


Year in Review 2009-2010

Featured Articles

BRIGHT IDEAS: Undergrad competition showcases ECE student ideas and inventions

BRIGHT IDEAS: Recycled electrification system will light up developing nations

New semiconductor laser structure

Nam Sung Kim

Katherine Compton

Focus on New Faculty:
Nader Behdad

Focus on Alumni:
Meet the ECE Visiting Advisory Board

Dean Foate receives Distinguised Acheivement Award

Andrew Hanson:
Transferring entrepreneurship from classroom to company

Michael Splinter: Blending engineering, business and social responsibility

In Memoriam

Regular Features

Message from the chair

Department News

Student News



spacer Homepage for ECE newsletter Button to obtain BACK ISSUES Button to CONTACT US Button to JOIN OUR MAILING LIST Button that connects to UW Foundation page for online giving  


The recpients of the 2008 Grainger Power Engineering Awards (with Dean Paul Peercy and members of the Grainger Foundation)

Congrats to the 2010
Grainger POWER ENGINEERING award recipients

Decorative initial cap Onn April 8, 2010, UW-Madison engineering faculty, staff, students, friends and family members gathered at the University of Wisconsin Foundation to celebrate the Grainger Power Engineering Award and Fellowship recipients. The event honored 14 ECE students who are already making contributions to their field. The awards, sponsored by The Grainger Foundation, recognize students for their academic successes in the field of power engineering.

Pictured (back row, from left): Syed Akhtar, Kevin Olikara, Daniel Ludois, Craig Mitchell Jr., Benjamin Tesch, Paul White, Jeremy Bricco, Daniel Dunar, Jacob Fritz; (front row, from left) College of Engineering Dean Paul Peercy, Micah Erickson, Anthony Di Loreto, Randy Johanning, Christopher Wolf, James Bukacek.

ECE student wins 2010 Alliant Energy/Erroll B. Davis Jr. Achievement Award

Solomon Adenle


Decorative initial cap Shortly after graduating in December 2009 with his bachelor’s degree in electrical and computer engineering, Solomon Adenle received the prestigious Alliant Energy/Erroll B. Davis Jr. Achievement Award, which recognizes outstanding scholarship and community service.

Adenle served for two years as the first vice president of the National Society of Black Engineers-WI Black Engineering Student Society. He also started the diversity spring welcome event at the College of Engineering to welcome underrepresented students to campus. Adenle has interned at the headquarters of both General Electric and British Petroleum. Originally from Nigeria, Adenle has a long-term dream of starting a non-profit organization dedicated to research and development of solutions to energy shortage issues in African countries.

Adenle was presented with the award and $1,000 on Feb. 5, 2010, in Madison. Award presenters included UW System President Kevin P. Reilly, UW System Senior Vice President Rebecca Martin and Barbara Swan, executive vice president, general counsel and chief administrative officer for Alliant Energy.

“Solomon’s commitment and contributions show what one student can do to make the UW experience richer both for himself and others. Students like Solomon are an inspiration to all of us who urge our young people to put their talents to use to improve the society they will soon lead,” Reilly says.

The award is made possible by the Alliant Energy Foundation, which established an endowment in 2007 in honor of former Alliant Energy CEO Erroll B. Davis Jr. Recipients of the award represent undergraduate students from traditionally underrepresented minority groups pursuing degrees in engineering or business, two degrees held by Davis, who now serves as Chancellor for the University of Georgia System. Recipients must be enrolled at either UW-Madison or UW-Platteville, which are located in regions of the state where Alliant Energy provides energy services.

Michael Bethencourt


Michael Bethencourt, ECE and computer science student and founder of, a name-your-own-price free-lance Web design business, is among nine UW-Madison undergraduates to earn a $2,500 Wiscontrepreneur scholarship to foster their entrepreneurial skills. The awards are distributed through the UW-Madison Office of Corporate Relations. A computer science and computer engineering major from Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, Bethencourt is working to create software for a collaborative graphic design program.Supported by a grant from the Kauffman Foundation, the Wiscontrepreneur initiative offers a variety of courses, programs, awards and activities to spur entrepreneurship and entrepreneurial thinking across the entire campus and state.

In March, PhD student Kyle Rupnow received a competitive UW-Madison PhD capstone award, which recognizes students across campus who have performed as outstanding teaching assistants throughout their tenure. A maximum of five awards are presented each year; students are nominated by faculty and selected by a campus committee.

Graduate student Harsh Sinha and undergraduate student Mike Nichols have received a grant from the IEEE Standards Education Committee for a project titled “Characterization of electron cyclotron resonance machine magnetic field parameters using IEEE standard measurement practices.” IEEE will publish their final project paper.


For help with this webpage:

Copyright 2010 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System

Date last modified: Monday,20-December-2010
Date created: 20-December-2010



Graphic of the ECE newsletter