University of Wisconsin Madison College of Engineering

Diversity Affairs

Diversity Affairs Links

Current Students

Prospective Students

Student Organizations


LEED Scholars Program

Engineering Summer Program



Support the DAO

Contact Us

Diversity Affairs Office
College of Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Room 2107 Mechanical Engineering Building
1513 University Ave
Madison, WI 53706

Tel: (608) 890-1403
Fax: (608) 890-2133

Office Hours: 8:30AM - 4:30PM

Add us on or follow us on .

COE Quick Links

You are here:
  1. Home > 
  2. Current Students > 
  3. Undergraduate > 
  4. Diversity Affairs
Apply for College of Engineering & Diversity Affairs Office Scholarships at Apply for College of Engineering & Diversity Affairs Office Scholarships at

Welcome to the Diversity Affairs Office 


The UW Madison College of Engineering is committed to recruiting and graduating academically excellent and creative students who are diverse in gender, race, ethnicity and socioeconomic representation.  We recognize and educate our students on the important societal and cultural impact of engineers.

The Diversity Affairs Office offers summer programs for high school students, as well as support for underrepresented undergraduate students in the College of Engineering. We offer students financial support through scholarships, academic advising, professional and leadership development and a strong mentoring community.  We work with other student services in the College to offer programs and services to enhance the cultural, educational and personal development of all students within the college. Finally, we are committed to measurement and empirical research on diversity in our own programs, engineering education and in the profession. 


Academic Calendar & Interfaith Calendar of Religious Holidays - For information on academic dates and/or religious holidays

College of Engineering Calendar - For information on the College of Engineering Events and Deadlines

Office of the Registrar Calendar - For an expanded list of dates and deadlines for enrollment and academic terms




A patten of success: The Wisconsin Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation   Jan. 21


Cory Jackson in his research laboratory. Photo Renee Meiller.



Alliant Energy Foundation and UW System recognize outstanding teachers and students   Sept. 29

Alliant Energy and Erroll B. Davis Academic Achievement Award Recipients

The 2014 Alliant Energy and Erroll Academic Achievement Award Recipients: From left: Julio César Zelaya (LEED scholar, UW-Madison), Sherri Byrand (UW-Sheboygan), Gustavo Zach Vargas (LEED scholar, UW-Madison).


Strong engineers, strong community Aug. 11

The 2014 graduating class of LEED scholars pose, holding up the Wisconsin "W"  hand sign.

The 2014 graduating class of LEED scholars: From left: Kevin Beene (BME), Lianne Estrella (CEE), Erin Connors (ME), Meng Xiong (ME), Benedetta Cannestra (CBE), Victor Torres (ME), Chelsey Denton (ECE) and Nehemiah Edwards (ECE). Students not in attendance: Robin Kraidich (MS&E) and Amy Martin (BME).



Upcoming Events

LEED Scholarships Available

Available starting February 15th, 2015


LEED Meeting: Using your online presence to increase job marketability 

March 19th, 2015 @ 6:00PM-7:30PM

1106 Mechanical Engineering Building

Presenter: Stephanie Salazar Kann, Engineering Student Development Assistant Director


UW-Madison Spring Break

March 29th-April 5th, 2015


LEED Meeting

April 9th, 2015 @ 6:00PM-7:30PM

1106 Mechanical Engineering Building


Engineering Expo

April 16th-17th, 2015

UW-Madison Campus


LEED Graduation Celebration

May 1st, 2015