University of Wisconsin Madison College of Engineering
You are here:
  1. Biomedical Engineering, BME > 
  2. Tong BME Design Awards > 
  3. 2011 competition


2011 Tong Biomedical Engineering Design Award Winners


The Tong Biomedical Engineering Design Awards were presented April 29, 2011 on the UW-Madison College of Engineering campus.


The annual competition is sponsored by University of Wisconsin-Madison electrical engineering alumnus Peter Tong and the Tong Family Foundation. The Tong awards reward biomedical engineering undergraduate teams that design innovative solutions and develop outstanding prototypes. Their work addresses real challenges that University of Wisconsin medical and life sciences faculty and area biomedical companies face and offer for the students to solve.








Guest Judges


Tim Bank, VP - Engineering, RA Sports
Jennifer Bassett, Manager, EMD Millipore
Jeanine Burmania, Licensing Manager, Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation
Ray Harter, President, Marvel Medtech, LLC
Jane Homan, CEO, IoGenetics
Randy Iliff, Director, Strategic Innovation, Bjorksten | bit 7
Dean Re, President, Meca Technology & Machining
Bonnie Reinke, CEO, Eso Technologies
Khaing Seow, Retired Executive, Epic Systems
Laura Strong, President & COO, Quintessence Biosciences
Matthew Thiel, Systems Engineer, NeuWave Medical
Lisa Waples, Founder, Strategic Recruitment Services


The Tong Biomedical Engineering Design Awards are made possible by a generous gift from the Tong Family Foundation (UW-Madison alumni Peter and Janet Tong).