Navigation Content
University of Wisconsin - Madison College of Engineering
You are here:
  1. Home > 
  2. Faculty and Staff > 
  3. Faculty and Staff Award Recipients > 
  4. Previous Bird Award Recipients

Previous Byron Bird Award for Excellence in a
Research Publication Recipients

Call for Nominations

The Byron Bird Award for Excellence in a Research Publication was first presented in 1980. The award recipient, who must be a tenured College of Engineering faculty member, is chosen by a faculty committee. The publication may be a research paper or series of related research articles, a patent, or a textbook that has had a profound influence on research. The publication must be more than five years old, and have gained wide acceptance and been influential in the academic or industrial community.

The award is a memorial to Byron Bird. He received a bachelor of science degree in civil engineering from Iowa State University in 1912 and a graduate degree in civil engineering from the University of Wisconsin in 1915. He served as a civil engineering professor at three universities and as a military officer in World Wars I and II. Though he had broad experience as a consulting engineer and as a city engineer, much of his professional career was dedicated to public service as a member of the U.S. Engineers' Office. He made major contributions to solving water supply problems related to the rapid growth of the Washington, D.C., area.

Previous Recipients of the Byron Bird Award