Page top Skip navigation SkipToContent

Next story

Cover of the Spring 2008 issue


VOL. 34, NO. 3





College news

2008 Grainger Award recipients

In April, the College of Engineering awarded 10 undergraduate students Grainger Power Engineering Awards. The students’ interests range from power generation, conversion, transmission and control to issues related to alternative energy and sensing technologies, among others. Sponsored by the Grainger Foundation, the awards honor students for their academic success in the field of power engineering. Pictured (from left) are: Gloria Sinclair (the Grainger Foundation), Dean Paul Peercy and student recipients Beau Brossman, David Nosbusch, Jonah Paul, Jon Hart, Matt Burton, Matt Endres, Mike Schlindwein, Billy Young, Eric VanderZanden and Dan Molzahn, and David Kendall (the Grainger Foundation). (large image)

Partnership for Innovation kicks off

Collaboration among the College of Engineering, UW-Stout, the Office of the Governor and numerous partners in the Wisconsin printing and packaging industry officially kicked off February 15. The Partnership for Innovation (PFI) in the Wisconsin Packaging and Printing Industry Cluster is made possible by a $600,000 grant from the National Science Foundation. Nationwide, Wisconsin is ranked first in plastic film packaging, first in paper, fourth in metal cans packaging, ninth in corrugated and fiber board packaging, and 11th in folding cartons packaging. The PFI will create, transfer and apply advanced packaging and printing technology, leading to the development of new packaging and printing products and processes. UW faculty involved include Industrial and Systems Engineering Professor Raj Veeramani (also business), Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor Marc Anderson, Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor Dan van der Weide (also biomedical engineering), and College of Engineering Dean Paul Peercy.

Researchers receive MURI for silicon nanomembranes

Coulter Translational Research Partnerships funded

In its third round of funding, the Coulter Translational Research Partnership in Biomedical Engineering oversight committee selected eight collaborative projects for 2008 funding.

  • Biomedical Engineering (BME) Professor David Beebe and Pediatrics Associate Professor Carol Diamond; “Non-electronic, disposable drug delivery platform for hemophilia.”
  • BME Associate Professor Walter Block and Radiology Associate Professor Fred Kelcz; “Increased specificity for MR screening of high-risk women for breast cancer.”
  • BME Assistant Professor Kristyn Masters and Surgery Research Associate David Stacey; “Advanced bioactive materials for the treatment of chronic wounds.”
  • BME Assistant Professor William Murphy and Orthopedics & Rehabilitation Associate Professor Ben Graf; “Controlled protein delivery technology for treatment of ischemic disease.”
  • BME Assistant Professor Brenda Ogle and Transplantation Surgery Assistant Professor Luis Fernandez; “Multi-channel two-photon flow cytometry to guide cellular transplantation.”
  • BME and Pharmacy Assistant Professor Darin Furgeson and Radiology Assistant Scientist Chris Brace; “Microwave thermal ablation and tumor margin directed chemotherapy for cancer eradication.”
  • BME Assistant Professor Justin Williams and Neurosurgery Assistant Professor Karl Sillay; “Thin-film micro-electrode arrays for minimally invasive neurological monitoring.”
  • BME and Pharmacy Professor W. John Kao and Pediatrics Professor Paul Sondel; “Multifunctional drug delivery matrix for immunotherapy.”

A College of Engineering team will work with researchers at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and the University of Texas-Arlington on a multimillion-dollar Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) grant from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research. MURIs provide long-term support for science and engineering research vital to national defense. Led by Erwin W. Mueller Professor and Bascom Professor of Surface Science Max Lagally (materials science and engineering), the team will investigate various photonic and electronic applications for silicon nanomembranes, flexible single-crystal sheets of silicon. The researchers will explore such applications as flexible electronics, sensors, NEMS, low-temperature systems, thermoelectric devices and 3-D stacked electronics. The UW-Madison team also includes Lynn H. Matthias Professor II in Electrical and Computer Engineering Robert Blick, Physics Professor Mark Eriksson (also materials science and engineering), Electrical and Computer Engineering Assistant Professor Zhenqiang (Jack) Ma and Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor Kevin T. Turner.

DOE funds microgrid collaboration

In a $14 million project, UW-Madison engineers will collaborate with industrial and government partners to implement a microgrid-power backup system at the fifth-largest incarceration facility in the United States—the Santa Rita Jail. The collaboration is among nine U.S. Department of Energy-funded projects to share in up to $50 million to increase the efficiency and reliability of the U.S. electricity grid. At UW-Madison, Grainger Professor of Power Electronics & Electrical Machines Thomas Jahns and Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor Emeritus Robert Lasseter will provide technical input for implementing Lasseter’s microgrid concept, which will allow the jail to switch between utility-connected and independent operation.

Osswald and Turng named SPE fellows

Mechanical Engineering Professors Tim Osswald and Lih-Sheng (Tom) Turng were named Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE) fellows for their leadership and dedication in plastics education, research and industry. The SPE elects fewer than 10 of its 35,000 worldwide members to fellow status every year.

Haimson named ARMA fellow

Materials Science and Engineering Professor Emeritus Bezalel Haimson has been named a fellow in the American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA). The fellows program is a new ARMA initiative to reward individuals who have achieved outstanding accomplishments in the area of rock mechanics, and have been of exceptional service to ARMA and the rock mechanics community.

Bier receives achievement award for risk analysis

Industrial and Systems Engineering Professor Vicki Bier was honored with the 2007 Distinguished Achievement Award from the Society for Risk Analysis. The award recognizes her contributions to risk science, which range from the military to the workplace to healthcare and beyond.

Bird, Stewart and Lightfoot inducted into hall of fame

The national fraternity Alpha Chi Sigma has inducted Chemical and Biological Engineering Professors Emeritus R. Byron Bird, Warren Stewart (posthumously) and Edwin Lightfoot into its hall of fame for their efforts in promoting chemistry as both a science and profession, and for their contributions to the success of generations of chemical engineers.

Page top. End of page.